Feeding Your Chakras: Part 2, The Muladhara (Root) Chakra

Up first in this ongoing series on feeding your chakras, is the Muladhara, or Root Chakra. Tracing a down your spine from the base of your skull towards the floor, the Muladhara would be at the furthest point down, right at the very tip of the coccyx bone. This is also the resting place of dormant Kundalini, the infinite spiritual energy. Once the Root Chakra is open and the energy is flowing, the dormant energies of the Kundalini awaken, and begin to spiral up the spine, helping to awaken each of the other six chakras along the way.

This is why the Root Chakra is one of the most important of all the chakras to support. Without the Kundalini, the chance for enlightenment is less. So, how do we awaken and support this chakra? From an activity standpoint, meditation is the first and foremost thing we can do. Also, spending time gardening, walking barefoot on the grass or a dirt trail, or even helping to restore a part of Mother Earth that has been damaged or covered in trash and debris, are all active things we can do to support our Muladhara. And then, when you’re done with that, you’re going to be hungry.

If you weren’t aware, each of the chakras has a color associated with it, and the Muladhara’s color is red. So when you’re thinking of what foods to eat, the best choices will always be foods that are red in color. Beets. Strawberries. Rhubarb. Red Onions. Red Potatoes. Red Bell Peppers. This chakra also responds well to any of the root vegetables, regardless of color, so throw in some carrots, parsnips, radishes, or yams, too. Finally, vegetable proteins, which means that beans, legumes, nuts, and seeds all play a part in helping to support this chakra.

To help you get started, here are five of my favorite recipes for foods that are associated with the root chakra.

I hope you enjoy these! And always, if you make any of these recipes, I’d love if you came back and left a quick comment on how you liked them, or if you added/changed anything about them. Next time we will look at the Swadhisthana, or the Sacral Chakra, and how we can feed and nourish the seat of our creativity!

Be well always my friends!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.