Feeding Your Chakras: Part 3, The Swadhisthana (Sacral) Chakra

In Part 2 of this series (click here), I wrote about the Muladhara, or the Root Chakra, what it is, how to support it, and the foods that create a healthy and productive chakra. In this post, we will allow our Kundalini energy to flow up our spine, just a bit, to the next chakra in the chain; the Swadhisthana, or Sacral Chakra. This chakra is the seat of our creativity, and is represented by the element of water. When we grant our creative side free reign in our lives, we begin to see new ways in which we can interact with, and support the world within which we live.

Not only do we find ourselves wanting to paint, to sculpt; or to write music, poetry, or literature, but begin to get a glimpse of our true selves, our highest selves. None of us would be here. In fact, nothing would be here without the power of creation. When this chakra is fully open and fully supported, there is no limit to what our imagination can dream up. Our lives become an exciting ride where nothing happens the same way twice, and everything fills us with joy.

There are several activities we can do to help support our creativity and the Swadhisthana, and all of them are about welcoming change. For our creativity to increase, and for us, as humans, to grow into our full potential, we must change. Who we become ultimately is encoded in our destiny, but the path that we take to get there is completely up to us. The more active our Sacral Chakra, the more creative the paths become. Of course, all of this creative work takes energy, so what foods help support this chakra?

Orange food. Oranges, and tangerines, and apricots. Carrots, bell peppers, pumpkins, and squash. All of these help provide the right amount of energy to support the Swadhisthana. Here are some of my favorite recipes using these items. Remember, all of my recipes are Gluten-Free, Vegan, and Processed-Sugar Free.

Now that we are all grounded to the earth, feel secure and safe and our creative energies are flowing, it’s time to move up one more chakra. This is the last of our lower three chakras and our ‘earth’ centered energies. Known as the Manipura, or Solar Plexus Chakra. I’ll see you soon! Namaste and Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.